After 10 years leading the Z. Smith Reynolds Library, Dean Lynn Sutton became Vice Provost on July 1 of 2014. Dean Sutton has been serving as both Dean of the Library and Vice Provost since then. Now the search committee has been formed to find a new dean for the Library and the search process is underway.

The University will host an open forum for the campus community on Thursday, December 4th from 4-5pm in the ZSR Auditorium, Room 404. Provost Kersh outlined the themes for this forum in a recent broadcast email, and asked those planning to attend to come prepared to share thoughts on these themes:

1) From your perspective, what are the especially positive things about the ZSR Library that we should be sure to stress in order to attract top-notch candidates to consider the role of dean?

2) What challenges and opportunities will be on the plate of the next Dean in her/his first three years in the position?

3) Given those challenges and opportunities, what do you feel are the most important professional skills and personal attributes that we will need to seek as we search for the best person to fill this role?

Anyone wishing to share thoughts on these themes or wanting to submit nominations for the position is invited to email the search committee at

ZSR Dean Search Committee Membership:

Rogan Kersh, Provost and Professor of Politics and International Affairs (Chair)
Susan Borwick, Professor of Music
Will Clarke, Senior Systems Administrator, ZSR
Al Gurganus, Chair, ZSR Council of Advocates
Steve Kelley, Head of Continuing Resources & Database Management, ZSR
Chris Knott, Assoc. Dean for Information Services and Technology and Professor, School of Law
Travis Manning, Library Specialist, ZSR
Elizabeth Nolan, Director of Faculty Affairs, School of Business
Rebecca Petersen, Public Services Archivist, ZSR
Mark Petersen, Vice President for University Advancement
Chelcie Rowell, Digital Initiatives Librarian, ZSR
Hu Womack, Instruction & Outreach Librarian, ZSR

Sam Perrotta, Event and Project Manager, committee staff

For more information, see the committee announcement on