Library Committees


Library staff members are critical to the governance of the Library. The entire staff meets monthly and teams meet regularly. Advisory committees of university faculty and students meet with the Dean to facilitate communication and advise on Library policies and procedures. The Dean of the Library also establishes an array of standing committees, as well as ad hoc committees and task forces when needed.

Administrative Council

The Administrative Council meets monthly to discuss, develop, and review policies, plans, projects, and issues relevant to the Library and its roles in the University.

  • Renee Berry (ex officio)
  • Heather Barnes (Library Faculty Representative, 2020-2021)
  • Veronica Brady
  • Lauren Corbett
  • Thomas Dowling
  • James Harper
  • Molly Keener
  • Mary Beth Lock
  • Travis Manning (2020- 2021)
  • Mika Payden-Travers
  • Tim Pyatt
  • Rosalind Tedford
  • Tanya Zanish-Belcher


The Assessment Committee is charged with planning and facilitating assessment efforts for library services.

  • Veronica Brady
  • Lauren Corbett
  • Thomas Dowling
  • James Harper
  • Molly Keener
  • Mary Beth Lock (chair)
  • Rosalind Tedford
  • Tanya Zanish-Belcher


The Communications Committee identifies, fosters, and sustains various communication channels to increase the library’s visibility and value within the larger university community.

  • Christian Burris (2019-2021) (co-chair)
  • Kevin Gilbertson (standing)
  • Rebecca May (standing) (co-chair)
  • Mika Payden-Travers (standing)
  • Peter Romanov (2020-21)

Emergency Weather

The Emergency Weather Team responds to weather emergencies to open and operate the library during inclement conditions.

  • Will Clarke (2020-2021)
  • Jeff Eller (2020-2021)
  • Tara Hauser (2020-2021)
  • David Link (2020-2021)
  • Mary Beth Lock (2020-2021) (chair)
  • Tim Mitchell (2020-2021)

Employee Development

The Employee Development Committee is charged with developing and implementing employee enrichment activities for the staff and faculty of the Z. Smith Reynolds Library.

  • Steve Kelley (2020-2022) (chair)
  • Molly Keener (2020-2021)
  • Kaeley McMahan (2020-2021)
  • Finley Turner (2020-2022)

Employee Recognition

The Employee Recognition Committee is charged with developing and implementing strategies for recognizing ZSR faculty and staff and for planning the annual Employee Recognition Luncheon.

  • Heather Barnes (2020-2021)
  • Will Clark (2019-2021)
  • Joy Gambill (2019-2021) (chair)
  • Ashelee Gerald Hill (2020-2022)
  • Travis Manning (2019-2021)
  • Kristen Morgan (2019-2021)
  • Carolyn McCallum (2020-2022)

Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion

The Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee is charged with identifying programming and conducting policy review that will create a more welcoming and respectful environment for all library employees and patrons.

  • Stephanie Bennett (2020-2021)
  • Veronica Brady (2020-2021)
  • Chris Burris (2019-2021) (chair)
  • Monesha Staton-Fluker (2019-2021)
  • Claire Nyles Suer (2020-2021)

Safety & Security

The Safety and Security Committee is charged with the development and maintenance of emergency protocols and policies to guide ZSR Library staff response and with conducting and coordinating training for library staff related to emergency procedures.

  • Stephanie Bennett (standing)
  • Barry Davis (2019-2022)
  • Thomas Dowling (standing)
  • Patrick Ferrell (2020-2021)
  • James Harper (2019-2021) (co-chair)
  • Mary Beth Lock (standing) (co-chair)
  • David Link (2020-2021)
  • Hu Womack (2020-2021)

Staff Mentorship

The Staff Mentorship Committee is charged with developing and coordinating a mentorship program available to all staff at ZSR library.

  • Lauren Corbett (2020-2021)
  • Kristen Morgan (2020-2021)
  • Jessica Wilson-Saia (2019-2021)

TALA Planning

  • Tara Hauser (2020-2021)
  • Jessica Wilson-Saia (2020-2021)

User Experience (UX)

The User Experience (UX) Committee conducts user research and offers design recommendations to improve library services and web resources for all library users.

  • Kyle Denlinger (2019-2021)
  • Kevin Gilbertson (standing) (chair)
  • James Harper (2019-2021)
  • Tara Hauser (2020-2021)
  • Rebecca May (standing)
  • Leslie McCall (2020-2021)
  • Kathy Shields (2020-2021)
  • Jessica Wilson-Saia (2020-2021)

Wake the Library

The Wake the Library Committee will coordinate the library’s “Wake the Library” program—all-night study hours during exam periods.

  • Kylie Bradley (2020-2021)
  • Barry Davis (2020-2021)
  • David Link (2020-2021)
  • Peter Romanov (2020-2021)

Wellness and Sustainability

The ZSR Library Wellness and Sustainability Committee develops programming that supports wellness initiatives and promotes sustainable living. In collaboration with other offices on campus, including the Offices of Wellbeing and Sustainability, the committee works to advance knowledge, skills, and practices that contribute to a sustainable and balanced lifestyle.

  • Heather Barnes (2020-2022)
  • Jeff Eller (2019-2021) (co-chair)
  • Amanda Foster-Kaufman (2019-2021) (co-chair)
  • Molly Keener (2020-2021)
  • Megan Mulder (2020-2021)
  • Kathy Shields (2020-2022)
  • Peter Romanov (2020-2021)