HomeAbout the Library › Library Committees, 2013-2014

Library staff members are critical to the governance of the Library. The entire staff meets monthly and teams meet regularly. Advisory committees of university faculty and students meet with the Dean to facilitate communication and advise on Library policies and procedures. The Dean of the Library also establishes an array of standing committees, as well as ad hoc committees and task forces when needed.

Committees by Assignment

Administrative Council

The Administrative Council is comprised of the Dean of the Library, Team Leaders, a library faculty representative and an elected staff representative. The Administrative Council meets monthly to discuss, develop, and review plans, projects, and issues relevant to the Library and its roles in the University. Minutes of Administrative Council meetings are sent to Lib-l, the library staff listserv.

  • Wanda Brown
  • Lauren Corbett
  • Thomas Dowling
  • Joy Gambill (library faculty representative, 2013-2014)
  • Mary Beth Lock
  • Tim Mitchell (staff representative, 2013-2015)
  • Susan Smith
  • Lynn Sutton
  • Rosalind Tedford
  • Tanya Zanish-Belcher


The Assessment Committee is charged with planning and facilitating assessment efforts for library services.

  • Lauren Corbett
  • Thomas Dowling
  • Mary Beth Lock
  • Susan Smith (chair)
  • Roz Tedford
  • Tanya Zanish-Belcher

Safety & Security

The Safety and Security Committee is charged with developing and re-evaluating action plans that will cover emergencies arising from threats to the life, health, safety and both physical and digital security of the occupants and collections of the library.

  • Thomas Dowling
  • Craig Fansler
  • James Harper
  • Mary Beth Lock (chair)
  • Mary Reeves
  • Meghan Webb


The Web Committee is charged with content development, user research, social media, design and identity, and technology development for the library website.

  • Chris Burris
  • Kyle Denlinger
  • Kevin Gilbertson (chair)
  • James Harper
  • Kaeley McMahan
  • Rebecca Petersen
  • Chelcie Rowell

Committees by Choice

Emergency Weather Team

The Emergency Weather Team responds to weather emergencies to open and operate the library during inclement conditions. Public Services Areas Only.

  • Doris Jones
  • David Link
  • Tim Mitchell
  • Hu Womack

Employee Orientation & Recognition

The Employee Orientation and Recognition Committee is charged with developing and implementing strategies for recognizing ZSR faculty and staff and for coordinating orientation activities for those who are new to the Library. The committee manages and updates orientation checklist and the new employee orientation LibGuide. These materials are regularly updated to reflect changes in the Library. The Committee is responsible for planning the annual Employee Recognition Luncheon, typically held in May the week after graduation. The Committee is also responsible for administering the Dedicated Deacon Award for informal recognition and the Annual Employee Recognition Awards for sustained excellence throughout the year. The Committee also lends support to other informal recognition events such as our potluck meals.

  • Scott Adair (2013-2015)
  • Thomas Dowling (2012-2014)
  • Joy Gambill (2012-2014)
  • Kathy Martlock (2013-2015)
  • Kristen Morgan (2013-2015)

Library Lecture Series

The Library Lecture Series Programming Committee is charged with planning lectures and discussions that will support the current curriculum; address current issues and events; acknowledge and accentuate the current collection and bring together the many diverse points of view found in our community.

Please see the Schedule of Events and Lecture Details form.

  • Chris Burris (co-chair)
  • Barry Davis (ex-officio)
  • Craig Fansler (ex-officio)
  • Carolyn McCallum (co-chair)
  • Rebecca Petersen
  • Mary Reeves
  • Lauren Suffoletto


The Marketing Committee promotes ZSR library services, resources, and facilities to Wake Forest students, faculty, and staff, as well as the broader Winston-Salem community. The Committee seeks to understand its target patron groups and designs activities or services that will increase its visibility and raise awareness of the library’s value to the university. Activities range from creating a brand identity for the library to improving the signage in the building to creating special events for one or all of our target groups.

  • Kevin Gilbertson
  • Vicki Johnson
  • Ellen Makaravage (chair)
  • Lauren Suffoletto

Staff Development

The Staff Development Committee is charged with developing and implementing staff development plans and activities for the staff of the Z. Smith Reynolds Library. Committee members representing the Library Teams solicit suggestions and requests for topics. Topics also come from workshop evaluations and the library administration. The staffs of the Professional Center Library and the Coy C. Carpenter Medical School Library are invited to participate in many of the staff development activities.

The Staff Development Committee focuses on providing workshops and training opportunities that can take place in the Library. Other development activities, such as travel to professional conferences and off-site workshops, are available to all staff through the Library’s staff development funds request process. Occasionally individual departments organize special informational events that constitute staff development opportunities.

  • Amanda Foster
  • Bob Hebert (chair)
  • Bradley Podair
  • Chelcie Rowell
  • Beth Tedford


The Sustainability Committee is charged with educating the ZSR community about recycling and other sustainable practices and promoting sustainable practices within the library.

  • Ellen Daugman
  • James Harper
  • Peter Romanov (chair)
  • Mary Scanlon (chair)

Wake the Library

The Wake the Library Committee will coordinate the library’s “Wake the Library” program – all-night study hours during exam periods. The committee will plan the schedule, solicit volunteers, seek donations from the university, coordinate the food, plan the publicity, etc.

  • Prentice Armstrong
  • Wanda Brown (chair)
  • Doris Jones
  • Tim Mitchell
  • Lauren Suffoletto
  • Linda Ziglar
  • Tanya Zanish-Belcher

If you have any questions, please contact us at 336-758-5475.